Brief on Nayagarh District, Beautiful places and Scenery

District Administration

  • Collector & District Magistrate – Dr. Poma Tudu, IAS.
  • Website –
  • e-Mail ID – [email protected]
  • Contact Number – 06753-252333.
  • Fax -06753-252566
  • Additional District Magistrate (ADM)- Bidhan Chandra Ray, OAS(S).
  • e-Mail ID – [email protected]
  • Contact Number – 06753-252980.
  • Fax -06753-252566.
  • Project Director (PD) – Subash Chandra Ray ,OAS(S)
  • e-Mail ID – [email protected]
  • Contact Number – 06753-252051
  • Superintendence of Police (SP) – Sidharth Khataria, IPS.
  • e-Mail ID – [email protected]
  • Contact Number – 06753-252088.
  • Fax -06753-252566

Brief on District

  • Formed – 1st April 1993
  • East – Khordha District
  • West – Kandhamal District
  • North-Cuttack District.
  • South – Ganjam District
  • The indigenous inhabitants of Nayagarh District are the Savaras and Kandhas.
  • Latitude & Langitude-Nayagarh District is located between 19° 54′ and 20° 32′ north latitude and 84° 29′ and 85° 27′ east longitude.
Naygarh Map

About District

Nayagarh District is an Odisha administrative district that was formed on April 1, 1993, when the former Puri District was divided into three independent districts. . The history of Nayagarh District dates back to the thirteenth century and is regarded significant in Odisha’s political history. On a trip to Puri from Madhya Pradesh, King Suryamani of the Baghela dynasty built his kingdom at Nayagarh.

Just before his death, the King Ragunath Singh divided his estate between his three sons. Harihar Singh got Nayagarh and Jadunath Singh got four Khandagrams (large area of land) which was known as Khandapara later. It was his heirs from here on that ruled Nayagarh District until it was captured by the Britishers. The four Garjat republics of ex-states Ranpur, Nayagarh, Khandapara, and Daspalla make up the Nayagarh District. The District is situated on the steep mountains in the west, with small well-cultivated fertile valleys pierced by minor streams in the north.

Census as per 2011

Sl NoTehsil NameBlock NameNumber of RI CirclesNo of Villages
1DasapallaDasapalla8 416
2KhandapadaKhandapada7 201
4RanapurRanapur9 250
5BhapurBhapur4 119
6GaniaGania3 114
7NuagaonNuagaon4 232
8OdagaonOdagaon9 220
  • Population-962789 (Male-502636 & Female-460153)
  • Area – 6890 Square km
  • Sub-Division – Nayagarh
  • Tahasils -8.
  • Blocks -8.
  • Police Station – 14.
  • Gram Panchayat Samiti-194
  • Villages – 1702

According to the 2011 census, the Nayagarh District covers an area of 3890 sq km and has a population of 962789 people. The District’s total male population is 502636, while the female population is 460153. In terms of administration, the district is divided into one sub division, Nayagarh. In the District, there are 8 Tahasils, 8 Blocks, 14 Police Stations, 194 GPS, and 1702 villages.

Literacy rate

The district of Nayagarh has an 80.42 percent literacy rate. In the District, there are numerous educational institutions.


The Nayagarh District’s prominent colleges are Raghunath Samabaya Mahavidyalaya, Ranapur College, Pathani Samanta College, and Nayagarh Autonomous College.


Summers are hot and winters are frigid in the District, which has a tropical climate. The greatest temperature in this district is far above 40 degrees Celsius (in the summer) and the lowest temperature is as low as 10 degrees Celsius (during winters). Summers last from March to June, while winters last from October to February. During the monsoon season, which lasts from July through August, rainfall is typically intense. The rainfall in this district is mostly due to the South West monsoon.

Eminent personalities

Nayagarh District is the land of eminent personalities. Some of the important personalities of the District are

  • Baishnab Kabi Sadananda Kabisurya Brahma.
  • Bhaktakabi Bhaktacharan.
  • Utkal Ghanta Jadumani

Fair & Festivals

The District of Nayagarh celebrates many fairs and festivals round the year.

  • Ravanapodi at Daspalla.
  • Pana Sanakranti of Dakhinakali at Nayagarh.
  • Shivaratri of Sri Ladubaba at Sarankul.
  • Magha Saptami at Kantilo.
  • Ram Navami at Odagaon.
  • Car Festival at Nayagarh
District Officers Contact Number
Sl.NOOfficeDesignationPhone No.
1Office Of the Chief District Veterinary OfficerChief District Veterinary Officer06753-252338
2Rural Water Supply And SanitationExecutive Engineer, RWSS06753-252569
3District Statistical OfficeDistrict Statistical Officer06753-252642
4Executive Engineer Rural Works DivisionExecutive Engineer06753-252049
5General Manager District Industries CentreGM, DIC06753-253783
6District Social Welfare OfficeDistrict Social Welfare Officer06753-253433
7Superintendent of Police officeSuperintendent of Police06753-252088
8District Culture OfficeDIPRO cum Dist. Culture Officer06753-253051
9District Information and Public Relation OfficeDIPRO cum Dist. Culture Officer06753-253051
10District Employment OfficeDist. Employment officer06753-252625
11District Panchayat OfficeDist. Pachayat Officer06753-252729

Read also..

If you liked our post, please subscribe, Share and Comment our page to stay with us.

By clicking the subscribe button you will never miss the new articles!Subscribe

Have a good day. God Bless You.

Leave a Comment